Talkiatry Review 2026: Online Psychiatry, Cost and Insurance
- Independent review
- Prices checked against provider sites
- Best for in-network psychiatrists and medication management
- Care comes from psychiatrists and psychiatric nurse practitioners, who are licensed to prescribe.
- In network with major insurers, with most patients reporting about $30 per visit (Talkiatry-reported).
Talkiatry at a glance
Details verified November 6, 2026
- Services
- Online psychiatric evaluation by a psychiatrist or psychiatric nurse practitioner, Ongoing medication management by video, Children’s mental health care (ages 5–18), Therapist directory
- Conditions treated
- ADHD, Anxiety, Bipolar disorder, Depression, OCD, PTSD, Postpartum conditions, Mood disorders, Insomnia
- Pricing
- Talkiatry says most patients pay around $30 per visit with insurance. It does not publish self-pay rates on its site; confirm cost before booking.
- Insurance
- Clinicians are in network with major insurers; FSA and HSA approved. Coverage depends on your plan and state.
- Prescribes medication
- Yes, where clinically appropriate and permitted
- Ages served
- Adults, and children aged 5–18 for children’s mental health care
- Availability
- Online in 45 US states plus Washington, D.C. All visits are virtual.
Affiliate link. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more
Talkiatry is an online psychiatry practice. Every visit is virtual, and you see a psychiatrist or psychiatric nurse practitioner who can diagnose conditions and prescribe medication. In this review we checked what Talkiatry publishes about its care, insurance and scope. Our verdict: it is a strong option for insured adults who want a psychiatrist rather than a therapist, with the caveat that it does not publish cash prices.
Our verdict at a glance
| Best for | Insured adults who want psychiatric evaluation and medication management |
| Cost | Most patients pay around $30 per visit with insurance (Talkiatry-reported) |
| Insurance | In network with major insurers; FSA and HSA approved |
| Format | Video visits; all care is virtual |
| Medication | Yes, prescribed by psychiatrists and psychiatric nurse practitioners |
| Ages | Adults; children 5–18 for children’s mental health care |
What is Talkiatry?
Talkiatry is a virtual psychiatry practice. Its site says its psychiatrists average 10 years of clinical experience, cover 26 subspecialties and speak 32 languages, and that all are licensed to prescribe. It also lists psychiatric nurse practitioners and links to a therapist directory.
It says it treats conditions including ADHD, anxiety, bipolar disorder, depression, OCD, PTSD, postpartum conditions, mood disorders and insomnia. It does not treat primary substance use disorders, only co-occurring conditions.
How Talkiatry works
- Answer a few questions. Talkiatry says matching takes minutes.
- Check your insurance. Clinicians are in network with major insurers.
- Book a video visit. Talkiatry says appointments are available in days.
- Continue care. Your psychiatrist can prescribe where appropriate and follow up over time.
How much does Talkiatry cost?
Talkiatry says most patients pay around $30 out of pocket per visit with insurance. It does not publish self-pay rates, so if you do not have in-network coverage, ask for the price before you book. FSA and HSA funds are accepted. If cost is your main concern, see our guide to affordable mental health care, or consider Sesame, which shows cash prices up front.
What Talkiatry doesn’t do
Talkiatry is not a message-anytime therapy service. If you mainly want weekly talk therapy, BetterHelp or Talkspace are closer fits. Talkiatry’s site also does not state its policy on controlled substances such as ADHD stimulants or benzodiazepines, so ask before booking if that matters to you. See our guide to online psychiatry for the rules.
What to expect at your first visit
Your first appointment is a psychiatric evaluation by video. Expect questions about your symptoms, how long they have lasted, your medical and family history, any medication you currently take, and how your sleep, appetite and daily functioning have been affected. A psychiatrist or psychiatric nurse practitioner uses this to reach a diagnosis and discuss options, which can include medication, therapy or both. Having a list of your current medications and any past treatments ready makes the visit more useful.
If medication is appropriate, a prescription is sent to your pharmacy, and follow-up visits are used to check how you are responding, manage side effects and adjust the dose. Read more about antidepressants and anti-anxiety medications before your visit so you can ask informed questions. No clinician can promise a specific prescription in advance.
Psychiatry versus therapy
Psychiatrists and psychiatric nurse practitioners focus on diagnosis and medication, so visits are usually shorter and less frequent than weekly talk therapy. Many people use both: a therapist for regular sessions and a prescriber for periodic medication checks. If you want that combination under one account, Talkspace and Rula offer both. If you only want talk therapy, our guide to online therapy compares the options.
Privacy and records
Because Talkiatry bills insurance, your visits will appear on your insurer’s records like any other healthcare claim. As with any health service, read the privacy policy before you sign up, and check what is shared with your insurer and how your records are stored.
Safety
Talkiatry is not an emergency service. If you are in crisis in the US, call or text 988 or call 911, see Get Help Now.
Who should use Talkiatry?
Talkiatry may suit you if you:
- Have insurance and want a psychiatrist to diagnose and manage medication
- Have a condition such as bipolar disorder, OCD or PTSD that benefits from specialist care
- Want care for a child aged 5 to 18
It is not the right choice if you are in crisis, mainly want talk therapy, or have no insurance and want a published cash price.
Talkiatry vs. alternatives
Talkspace also offers psychiatry, alongside therapy, and accepts Medicare and TRICARE. Rula pairs insured therapy and psychiatry. Sesame offers psychiatrist visits at upfront cash prices.
Is Talkiatry worth it?
For insured adults who want a psychiatrist, a reported $30 typical visit is competitive, and the range of conditions it covers is broad. The main unknown is cost without insurance.
Methodology
We checked Talkiatry’s services, insurance, conditions and availability statements against its own website on November 6, 2026, and assessed it against each criterion in our review methodology. We don’t give star ratings. Some links on this page are affiliate links and may earn us a commission, which never affects our conclusions. Confirm current prices and coverage on Talkiatry’s site before you enroll.
Pros and considerations
Pros
- Care comes from psychiatrists and psychiatric nurse practitioners, who are licensed to prescribe.
- In network with major insurers, with most patients reporting about $30 per visit (Talkiatry-reported).
- Treats a wide range of conditions, including bipolar disorder, OCD and PTSD.
- Appointments are available in days, and all visits are virtual.
Considerations
- It is a psychiatry practice, not a message-anytime therapy service like BetterHelp.
- No self-pay prices are published, so cost without insurance is unclear until you sign up.
- It does not treat primary substance use disorders, only co-occurring conditions.
- Its site does not state a policy on controlled substances such as ADHD stimulants; ask before booking if this matters to you.
- Not available in every state, and not a crisis service.
Is it a good fit?
Who might consider it
- Insured adults who want a psychiatrist to diagnose and manage medication.
- People with conditions such as bipolar disorder, OCD or PTSD who want specialist psychiatric care.
- Parents seeking mental health care for a child aged 5 to 18.
Who may need a different level of care
- People in crisis or with severe symptoms, see Get Help Now or seek in-person care.
- People who mainly want weekly talk therapy, compare BetterHelp or Talkspace.
- People without insurance who want a published cash price, compare Sesame.
Alternatives to consider
- BetterHelp ReviewThe largest online talk-therapy network, matching adults with a licensed therapist for $70–$100 a week or an average $23 copay with eligible insurance. It does not diagnose or prescribe.
- Talkspace ReviewAn online therapy and psychiatry service that is in network with plans covering 100+ million Americans, including Medicare and TRICARE. Self-pay therapy costs $69–$109 a week; psychiatry prescribes non-controlled medication.
- Sesame Care ReviewA cash-price healthcare marketplace where you book therapists, psychiatric clinicians and doctors directly. Mental health visits start around $34, and ongoing medication care costs $79 a month. No insurance needed; no controlled substances.
- Rula ReviewAn insurance-first online therapy and psychiatry network with licensed providers in all 50 states, in network with 100+ commercial plans. Insured members pay about $15 a session on average; self-pay therapy is $150.
- Online PsychiatryPsychiatric evaluation and medication management by telehealth.
When to seek professional help
Consider talking with a doctor or licensed mental health professional if symptomslast for more than two weeks, keep coming back, or make it harder to manage work, school, relationships or daily tasks. You don’t need to wait until things feel severe, getting support early often makes things easier.
If you’re thinking about harming yourself or are in immediate danger, call your local emergency number. In the US, call or text 988 (Suicide & Crisis Lifeline).Crisis resources in other countries.
Explore care optionsFrequently asked questions
Does Talkiatry take insurance?
What does Talkiatry treat?
Is Talkiatry therapy or psychiatry?
Can Talkiatry prescribe ADHD medication?
References
We rely on government health agencies, professional medical organizations, peer-reviewed research and academic institutions. Read our sourcing standards.
About this article
Written by
ExploreMentalHealth Editorial Team
Our editors research and write every article using government health agencies, professional medical organizations and peer-reviewed research, following our published editorial standards.
- First published
- November 6, 2026
- Last updated
- November 6, 2026
- Last medically reviewed
- Review pending